Report of the Committee for the Year 2013

To be presented at the Annual General Meeting in Johannesburg 2014

Composition of the Committee in 2013

In 2013, the ISCH Committee consisted of officers, elected members, co-opted members and *ex officio* members. The officers were

- Chair: Hannu Salmi (Turku, Finland), before 14 September, Alessandro Arcangeli (Verona, Italy), after 14 September
- Secretary: Rainer Brömer (Istanbul, Turkey), before 14 September, Heta Aali (Turku, Finland), after 14 September
- Treasurer: Catherine Ng (Aberdeen, Scotland)

Brömer and Salmi are elected members from Ghent 2008, and their three-year period is postponed as long as they are officeholders. Ng was elected to the committee in Oslo 2011. Other elected members in 2013 were:

- David Smith (Aberdeen, Scotland), elected in Ghent 2008 (treasurer for 2008–11, the three-year period as elected member started in Oslo 2011)
- Harvey Green (Boston, USA), elected in Turku 2010
- Lene Otto (Copenhagen, Denmark), elected in Turku 2010
- İnanç Özekmekçi (Istanbul, Turkey), elected in Turku 2010
- Philipp Amour (Fribourg, Switzerland), elected in Oslo 2011
- Seldağ Günes Peschke (Ankara, Turkey), elected in Oslo 2011
- Marius Kwint (Portsmouth, UK), elected in Oslo 2011
- Stephen Wallace (Plymouth, UK), elected in Oslo 2011
- Alessandro Arcangeli (Verona, Italy), elected in Lunéville 2012

The AGM for the year 2013 was held during the ISCH conference in Istanbul on 14 September 2013. The new elected members joined the committee in Istanbul and they were:

- Eivind Engebretsen (Oslo, Norway), elected in Istanbul 2013
- Laurence Shee (Johannesburg, South Africa), elected in Istanbul 2013
- Marek Tamm (Tallinn, Estonia), elected in Istanbul 2013

The new committee had its first meeting after the AGM on 14 September. It was decided that Alessandro Arcangeli becomes the Chair and Heta Aali the Secretary of the Society. The Committee organized an email meeting between 23 September and 3 October 2013. The committee decided to co-opt several members. Chris Dixon joined the editorial team of the publication series. Anne Eriksen, Anu Korhonen and Jörg Rogge formed the prize committee 2013–2014. In addition to this, Dina Burger was elected the President for 2013–2014.

In 2013, the ISCH Committee included also the following ex officio members (six-year period):

- editor-in-chief of the journal: Marjo Kaartinen (Turku, Finland), period started in Ghent 2008, retired in Istanbul 2013
- editor-in-chief of the journal: Chris Forth (Lawrence, KS, USA), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the journal: Howard Chiang (Warwick, UK), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the journal: Damien Kempf (Liverpool, UK), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the journal: Shailja Sharma (Chicago, USA), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the journal: Kristine Steenbergh (Amsterdam, The Netherlands), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the journal: Jan Frans van Dijkhuizen (Leiden, The Netherlands), period started in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the book series: Anu Korhonen (Helsinki, Finland), period started in Ghent 2008, retired in Istanbul 2013
- editor of the book series: Birgitta Svensson (Stockholm, Sweden), period started in Ghent 2008
- editor of the book series: Chris Dixon (Brisbane, Australia), period started in Istanbul 2013

Committee Meetings

During the year 2013, the ISCH committee had several email meetings. After the AGM in Lunéville, the ISCH Committee had decided to establish a new website. An official domain name was selected (http://culthist.org), and Philipp Amour became the homepage manager. The new site opened in December 2012. On 4–6 January 2013, the Committee had an email meeting on the membership fees and decided to make a small increase, £2/3 euros, to cover the postal charges. The Committee had another email meeting, starting on 14 March 2013. The agenda included future plans, reports of the conference preparations for Istanbul and Johannesburg, and the question of membership recruitment. Essay prize was also discussed since the deadline would be 10 May 2013. Marjo Kaartinen also reported that she will give up the editorial duties of *Cultural History* and the Committee should start the recruitment of new editors. In the subsequent discussion, it was agreed that more editorial force is needed. On 10 May, it was agreed that the ISCH organizes an open call for editors so that the decision can be made in Istanbul. On 11 June 2013, the prize committee reported that the winner of the essay prize had been selected, Soile Ylivuori, who would get the prize in Istanbul. On 14 August 2013, the Committee took actions to organize the election of new members. There were three vacant positions, and finally only three candidates volunteered and hence no election was needed. Before the Istanbul conference the Committee started preparing the accounts and all the report for the AGM 2013.

At the AGM, which was held in Istanbul on 14 September 2013, the new editorial team for the journal was approved. This foresees Christopher E. Forth as new editor-in-chief and comprises Howard Chiang, Damien Kempf, Shailja Sharma, Kristine Steenbergh and Jan Frans van Dijkhuizen as general editors. As for the book series, Birgitta Svensson and Chris Dixon formed the board while Anu Korhonen left it. Between the AGM and the following email meeting a variety of ways of operating was explored, from PhD and smaller-scale seminars to actual Committee meetings between conferences. In the course of the preparation of the Johannesburg conference, the opportunity of holding methodological as well as thematic sessions was emphasized. Bucharest was chosen as the site for the 2015 conference (with subsequent discussion of its topic), with Trieste lined up for 2016 and a proposal to return to Aberdeen in 2017, 10 years after the launching conference. The essay prize for 2014 was also launched. Further email exchanges were held in spring 2014. On financial matters, in particular, plans were made

to close the Aberdeen online store and to ultimately unify the bank accounts currently held in Scotland and Finland. The composition of the editorial teams for both the journal and the book series recommended updating, call for editors were launched ahead of the Johannesburg conference and their outcome set to be approved at the AGM. Due to the expiring of the term of several elected members, the Committee launched a call for three positions to be filled as from the 2014 conference. The candidatures of Heta Aali, Ecaterina Lung and Mauricio Sánchez Menchero were accepted without a need of holding elections.