## REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE FOR THE YEAR 2009 To be presented at the Annual General Meeting in Turku, 28 May 2010

The first ISCH Committee was elected at the Founding General Meeting in Ghent in August 2008. The elected members of the committee were:

- Rainer Brömer (University of Mainz, Germany)
- Chris Dixon (University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia)
- Anne Eriksen (University of Oslo, Norway)
- Didier Francfort (Nancy Université, France )
- Patrick Hutton (University of Vermont, USA)
- Kate Macdonald (University of Ghent, Belgium )
- Pascal Ory (Sorbonne Université Paris, France)
- Andrea Pető (Central European University, Budapest, Hungary)
- Jörg Rogge (University of Mainz, Germany)
- Hannu Salmi (University of Turku, Finland)
- David Smith (University of Aberdeen, Scotland)
- Gillian Swanson (University of the West of England, England)

There were also four *ex officio* members: the prospective editor of the journal Marjo Kaartinen (University of Turku, Finland) and the editors of the publication series Anu Korhonen (University of Helsinki, Finland), Birgitta Svensson (Nordiska Museet, Stockholm, Sweden) and Jürgen Pieters (University of Ghent, Belgium).

In 2009, Hannu Salmi was the Chair of the Committee, Rainer Brömer the Secretary, and David Smith the Treasurer of the ISCH. Chris Dixon, the organiser of the 2009 conference, was the President of the ISCH for 2009.

The Committee had four meetings, on 19–30 January 2009, 20 July 2009, 22 July 2009 and 22 December 2009–5 January 2010. In the first meeting, the Committee continued its work to improve membership recruitment, to develop publication plans and to start a cultural history essay prize. The publication contract with Pickering & Chatto was announced in the first meeting of the year 2009. Journal plans, too, proceeded in 2009 but without concrete results.

The second meeting took place on 20 July 2009 in Brisbane, where ISCH organized its second annual conference under the title *Cultures of Violence and Conflict*. The committee meeting took preparations for the Annual General Meeting and appointed a group to prepare a practical scheme for the essay prize, consisting of Didier Francfort, Chris Dixon, Hannu Salmi and Gillian Swanson.

The General Meeting took place on 22 July 2009, with 19 members of the Society being present. The meeting approved all the reports and nominated Alex Sutherland as Society's Auditor. An important discussion dealt with the election of new members to the Committee. The chair of the meeting explained that during the first year of the Society it was difficult to comply with the constitution's requirement that 2 members of the committee retire per year and proposed instead that 2–4 retire in 2010. An email election would therefore be organised for the Spring of 2010, with the results announced at the AGM in Turku. The meeting approved of this course of action.

The General Meeting discussed also membership fees. It was agreed a) to keep the fee for the unwaged at 5 GBP, b) to set the fee for waged new members at 10 GBP, c) to invite existing

members to pay a voluntary levy of 5 GBP (or 10 Australian dollars during the remainder of the Brisbane conference), d) that the membership will continue to be on an 'in perpetuity' basis for the time being, in order to build up membership.

The Committee of the ISCH had its third meeting right after the General Meeting to discuss how to proceed. Keijo Virtanen was elected the President of the ISCH for 2010.

During the fall 2009, the Committee worked through its email list, and had its last meeting between 22 December 2009 and 5 January 2010. The most important thing was to find the volunteers to retire from the Committee, so that the election of new committee members in Spring 2010 would become possible. It was suggested that the retired members would continue as co-opted members, as the committee for the ISCH Essay Prize. Finally, it was agreed that Patrick Hutton, Kate Macdonald and Jörg Rogge retire and form the prize committee. Jörg Rogge was elected the Chair of the ISCH Essay Prize Committee. The essay competition was announced in January 2010, the deadline for submission being 15 March 2010.

In 2010, an email voting system was constructed with the idea that it can be used in all subsequent elections.

During the year 2009, the Committee negotiated with Monash University, South Africa, about the possibility to organize the 2012 conference in South Africa, but finally Monash had to withdraw its plan. At this point, the organizer of the 2012 conference is still open.

In Spring 2010, the negotiations on the journal finally proved successful when Edinburgh University Press offered a contract of the ISCH.

In Turku, 24 May 2010

Hannu Salmi