## **Report of the Committee for the year 2010**

To be presented at the Annual General Meeting in Oslo 2011

The first ISCH Committee was elected at the Founding General Meeting in Ghent in August 2008, and all committee members continued until spring 2010. These were:

- Rainer Brömer (University of Mainz, Germany)
- Chris Dixon (University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia)
- Anne Eriksen (University of Oslo, Norway)
- Didier Francfort (Nancy Université, France )
- Patrick Hutton (University of Vermont, USA)
- Kate Macdonald (University of Ghent, Belgium )
- Pascal Ory (Sorbonne Université Paris, France)
- Andrea Pető (Central European University, Budapest, Hungary)
- Jörg Rogge (Mainz University, Germany)
- Hannu Salmi (University of Turku, Finland)
- David Smith (University of Aberdeen, Scotland)
- Gillian Swanson (University of the West of England, England)

Before the Turku conference in May 2010, it was agreed that three committee members, Patrick Hutton, Kate Macdonald and Jörg Rogge will retire from the Committee and continue as co-opted members, forming the prize committee of the ISCH Essay Competition. Three new members were elected during spring 2010:

- Lene Otto (University of Copenhagen, Saxo-Institute, Section of Ethnology, Denmark)
- Harvey Green (Northeastern University, Boston, USA)
- İnanç Özekmekçi (Istanbul University, Turkey)

During the year 2010, there were also four *ex officio* members of the Committee. The prospective editor of the journal was Marjo Kaartinen (University of Turku, Finland) and the editors of the publication series Anu Korhonen (Renvall Institute, University of Helsinki, Finland), Birgitta Svensson (Nordiska Museet, Stockholm, Sweden) and Jürgen Pieters (University of Ghent, Belgium). As elected in 2008, Rainer Brömer served as Secretary, Hannu Salmi as Chair, and David Smith as Treasurer of ISCH. Keijo Virtanen (University of Turku) acted as President of ISCH for the year 2010. In the Turku conference, Liv Emma Thorsen (University of Oslo) was selected the ISCH President for 2011.

In 2010, the Committee had four meetings, on 22 December 2009–5 January 2010 (by email), on 27 May, on 29 May, and on 13–17 December 2010 (also by email). In the first meeting, the Committee continued its work to develop publication plans and to start a cultural history essay prize. The most important thing was to discuss about the volunteers to retire from the Committee, so that the election of new committee members in spring 2010 would be possible. It was suggested that the retired members would continue as co-opted members as the committee for the ISCH Essay Prize. Finally, it was agreed that Patrick Hutton, Kate Macdonald and Jörg Rogge retire and form the prize committee. Jörg Rogge was elected the chair of the ISCH Essay Prize Committee. The essay competition was announced in January 2010, the deadline for submission being 15 March 2010. The first meeting discussed also the procedures of the forthcoming election. In spring, an email voting system was constructed with the idea that it can be used in all subsequent elections.

The second meeting took place on 27 May in Turku and included mainly preparations for the General Meeting. The negotiations on the Society's Journal had proceeded favourably and the Committee decided to approve the contract offered by Edinburgh University Press. The contract was signed during the meeting. The first issue would appear in March 2012.

The Annual General Meeting took place on 28 May 2010, with 51 members of the Society being present. The meeting approved all the reports and nominated Alex Sutherland as Society's Auditor. The results of the committee election were announced and the new members, Harvey Green, Lene Otto and İnanç Özekmekçi were congratulated and welcomed to the Committee. To develop postgraduate networks, the AGM also decided to co-opt James Emmott to the committee. The full minutes of the AGM can be read at the Society's website.

The Committee of the ISCH had its third meeting right after the General Meeting, on 29 May 2010, to discuss how to proceed. The Committee had its fourth meeting on 13–17 December 2010 by email. The organization of the next conference in Oslo was discussed, and the development of publication plans, both journal and book series, updated. It was also decided to announce the ISCH Essay Prize for the second time in spring 2011. The plans for the next conferences, Lunéville 2012 and Istanbul 2013, were also updated.